Thomas F. Segalla Service Award

ACCC annually bestows the Thomas F. Segalla Service Award in recognition of dedication and service to the College. Named in honor of the College's first president, the award recognizes recipients that demonstrate Creativity, Visibility, and Persistence, three characteristics that embody the approach of Tom Segalla to his practice, volunteerism, and leadership in the practice of law.


2023: Andrew Downs, Bullivant Houser Bailey PC (San Franciso, CA) and Lorelie Masters, Hunton Andrews Kurth (Washington, DC)
Downs, an insurer attorney, has been an active Fellow since 2015, he is a current member of the Board or Regents, and serves on the Finance and Communications Committees. In addition, as co-chair of the Outreach & Regional Meetings Committee, he leads our efforts to coordinate social gatherings for our Fellows across the country. He has also served as a panelist for annual conferences and insurance law symposiums, and has participated in several other ACCC committees over the years.

Masters, a policyholder attorney, was one of the first Fellows of the College and its second president, She has demonstrated ongoing loyalty and willingness to support our organization whenever needed. She shares her expertise as a frequent speaker at our annual conferences, insurance law symposiums and pop-up dialogue sessions, and has served on numerous committees during her tenure. 

Segalla-Huddleston and Downs   Segalla-Huddleston and Masters

2022: Chris Mosley, Foley Hoag LLP (Denver, CO) and Robert Allen, The Allen Law Group (Dallas, TX)
Mosley, a policyholder attorney, was recognized for his significant contributions to the College. A member since 2014 and a current member of the Board, Mosley is reliability and always willing to assist and contribute when needed. He shares his expertise as a frequent speaker at the ACCC  conference and has co-chaired the Law School Symposium Committee and the Blockchain and Virtual Currencies Committee. 

Allen, an insurer attorney, was recognized for his work as co-chair of the Bad Faith and Extra-contractual Committee. As such, he spearheads that committee’s activities, including quarterly meetings and well-attended pop-up calls on cutting issues. Allen is one of the longest serving members of the College’s Membership Committee. With perfect attendance for committee meetings, he routinely provides a wealth of rich and substantive information on the candidates that he is vetting. He has been instrumental in expanding the College’s membership with qualified candidates -- always with a keen eye towards issues of importance to the College such as diversity and growth in jurisdictions where the College does not have a significant number of Fellows. Allen has been an active Fellow since 2014, is a current Board member, and serves on the Communications Committee. 


2021: John Bonnie, Weinberg Wheeler Hudgins Gunn & Dial (Atlanta, GA) and KT Talieh, Hunton Andrews Kurth (Washington, DC)
Bonnie was being recognized for his significant contributions to the College, including serving as co-chair of the 2021 Annual Conference, and co-vice chair of the 2020 ACCC Annual Conference. He helped to hand select a new conference venue and was focused on seeking and selecting high-quality panels with diverse speakers. In his role as co-chair of the Professionalism and Ethics Committee, he has spoken on numerous ethics programs over the years and has been a regular contributor of newsletter content on the issue of ethics.

Talieh was recognized for his diligent work as co-chair of the Membership Committee. He has been in that role since 2017, working with the committee to identify and vet candidates for the College, ensuring that we maintain the highest standards. He was recently appointed to the Board of Regents and has been a speaker for various College programs.


2020: Angela Elbert, Neal Gerber & Eisenberg LLP (Chicago, IL) and Doug McIntosh, Segal McCambridge Singer & Mahoney, Ltd. (Fort Lauderdale, FL)
Elbert was recognized for her significant contributions to the College, including serving as a Committee Co-chair as well as exemplary service co-chairing two ACCC Annual Conferences, both coordinating speakers and ensuring quality programming for Fellows of the College. McIntosh was recognized for his consistent contributions to the College, including as Co-chair of the successful 2019 Insurance Law Symposium at Nova Southeastern University, Shepard Broad College of Law, focusing on Insurer Bad Faith, and for his activities as a Committee Co-chair. 

2019: Edward "Ned" Currie, Currie, Johnson & Myers (Jackson, MS) and Mary Craig Calkins, Blank Rome (Los Angeles, CA)

Currie was recognized for his contributions to the college: while he was president, the college’s first Honorary members were inducted, we capitalized on the success of our initial law school symposium and instituted it as an annual event, and the College launched a new website and published its second First-Party Appraisal Compendium. Calkins was recognized for her contributions to the college: while she was president, she launched the regional meet up programs and worked to broaden the content on the website to highlight committees and members. The Fee Shifting Compendium was published and the Board of Directors undertook a strategic planning process that continues to be a guide point for the College.


2018: Hugh Lumpkin, Ver Ploeg & Lumpkin, P.A. (Miami, FL) and Stephen Pate, Cozen O'Connor (Houston, TX)
Lumpkin was recognized for his overall dedication to the College, and leadership in developing annual first party compendiums that serve as a valuable resources to the profession. Pate was recognized for his service to the College and service on the Board of Regents, leadership in planning the 2017 annual meeting, developing a webinar series for the college, and making some of the hottest hot sauce around.

2017: Michael F. Aylward, Morrison Mahoney LLP (Boston, MA) and Michael Huddleston, Munsch Hardt Kopf & Harr, P.C. (Dallas, TX)
Aylward was recognized for his overall dedication to the College, leadership in planning a successful symposium in Boston, and service on the Board of Regents (Founding member). Huddleston was recognized for his service on the Board of Regents and as co-chair of the Website and Social Media Committee.

2016: Jill Berkeley,Neal, Gerber & Eisenberg LLP (Chicago, IL) and Wayne Taylor, Mozley, Finlayson & Loggins, LLP (Atlanta, GA)
Jill and Wayne are both charter fellows. They are the 2016-2017 Membership Committee Co-Chairs and both serve on the Board of Regents. 

2015: Janet L. Brown, Boehm Brown Harwood, P.A. (Maitland, FL) and Sherilyn Pastor, McCarter & English, LLP (Newark, NJ)

2014: Bruce D. Celebrezze, Sedgwick LLP (San Francisco, CA) and Mary McCutcheon, FB+M LLP (San Francisco, CA)